Unfortunately my research PowerPoint is to large to upload to my website so I’ve had to copy all of it out here:

FMP Research

Primary Research:

  • For my Primary Research I have used quantitative research and conducted a survey to gather more information. I also used qualitative research and conducted some Vox Pop interviews to determine peoples opinions on Fly tipping.
  • I will also be using further qualitative research and conducting a more formal interview with a local land owner. This will be essential in gathering vital information for my project
  • I also visited several fly tipping sites surrounding Kingsdown and Rodmersham. Visiting these sites allowed me to see for myself how bad the fly tipping situation is in my local area. Visiting these sites allowed me to gather vital research and information, I was able to take photographs and gather video footage at these sites which I can utilise in my FMP.
  • I have also presented previous work as part of my research that I have done throughout this course and In my free time. This includes news articles that I have made as well as evidence of video and audio work that I have completed throughout the year.

 

Secondary Research:

  • For my secondary research I will utilise google to gather more information. I will also use the library/LRC at college to see if I can gather books relevant to fly tipping. I have gathered magazines and newspapers that feature articles on fly tipping. I will also be gathering research through sites like YouTube by finding footage of People Fly Tipping.
  • I will also see if I can find any television news reports, radio podcast or pre existing interviews. News websites like the BBC will be helpful in gathering official articles, videos and news reports.
  • I will also see if I can gather pre existing footage of fly tipping from websites such as YouTube. I can use any footage I collect in my research and in my final video.
  • As well as gathering news articles I intend to gather official documents regarding fly tipping, I will acquire this information from sites like gov.uk.
  • I also intend to gather information on the type of music used in the background of news reports and interviews. I can do this by watch news reports f the television, listening to news report podcasts, and watching news reports and interviews on YouTube.
  • I also conducted research into different interviewers and their styles, presented in this PowerPoint is the interviewer who’s style and technique have been used to inspire my work.

 

Mind Map:

I made this mind map developing me ideas for my final major project. In this mind map I have explored my ideas regarding my research. As well as my ideas for the type of media I will utilise in creating my final piece.FMP mind-map

 

FMP Idea:

For my Final Major Product (FMP) I will be doing an exposé on ‘fly-tipping’ in Kent and how extreme the problem is becoming. I would like to shine a light on this ever escalating issue, by utilising the skills I have learnt throughout this year to achieve a high quality result that is both informative and expresses my media skills. To achieve this goal I plan on creating a video that incorporates some of the skills I have learnt throughout the year. I would like my video to include a compilation of brief interviews with the general public regarding their personal thoughts on fly-tipping and if/how it has effected them. As well as general public interviews I plan on also including an interview with a local land owner; in a more formal interview setting, asking them how fly tipping on their land had effected them.

I also plan on asking people what they would like to be done regarding fly tipping and how they would like it to be dealt with by local authorities.

As well as the video in the style of a news report I also plan on creating a news article either in the style of a newspaper/magazine article or a website news article.

Synopsis for the video: Throughout this short documentary piece we will uncover the depths of the Fly-Tipping epidemic sweeping through our Kentish countryside. Join us as we uncover the truth behind these atrocities during our interviews with local land owners and residence regarding their experiences and the detrimental effect that it has on us and The world in which we live.

 

Fly Tipping: The Definition

Illegal dumping, also called fly dumping or fly tipping, is the dumping of waste illegally instead of using an authorised method such as kerbside collection or using an authorised rubbish dump. It is the illegal deposit of any waste onto land; waste dumped or tipped on a site with no licence to accept waste.

Illegal dumping is typically distinguished from littering by the type and amount of material, and/or the manner in which it is discarded.

The term fly tipping is derived from the verb tip, meaning “to throw out of a vehicle” and on the fly, meaning “on the wing” – to throw away carelessly or casually.

Taxes on landfill in the UK led to illegal waste dumping, fly-tipping. Materials fly-tipping can range from green waste to domestic items, to abandoned cars and construction waste, much of which may be hazardous or toxic.

As the cost of disposing of household rubbish and waste increases so does the amount of individuals and businesses that fly-tip, the UK government has made it easier for members of the public to report fly-tipping. The fine or punishment is normally defined by the local council that operates in the local area in which the rubbish was dumped.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Illegal_dumping

 

Treatment Questions:

Who

  • The film will feature a local land owner who has experienced Fly-Tipping on their property. Several interviewees will also feature as part of a series of ‘Vox Pop’ style interview that will be compiled together for the final product. I will also feature this the film as I will be the Interviewer.

What

  • How do you feel about Fly-tipping? Has Fly-Tipping effected you in any way? What do you think should be done to deal with Fly-Tipping in the future?

Where

  • The Vox Pop interviews will be conducted at my home and the formal interview will be conducted either at the interviewees house or one of the Fly-Tipping locations I will also be filming at.

How

  • I will edit the Vox Pop interviews together into a compilations of peoples thoughts and feelings surrounding the issue. I will also incorporate footage I have taken of Fly-Tipping sites along with   informative voice overs. The main part of my video will consist of my interview with a local land owner that has had experience with this issue.

 

Key Questions and Tag Line:

  • Why is Fly-Tipping on the rise?
  • What kind of damage can Fly-Tipping cause
  • What can be done to prevent and or deal with this growing problem?
  • How does Fly-Tipping personally effect people?

My project will show how ‘Fly-Tipping’ has increased exponentially in recent years and how it is ruining the Kentish countryside. I aim to accurately convey the seriousness of the situation, the damage it causes and how the situation can be dealt with/avoided. I also want to establish how Fly-tipping effects people on a personal level and how hard it can be to cope with.

My main argument is: Why is it the responsibility of the land owner to dispose of the Rubbish when it is discarded on their property, despite the fact that it is of no fault of their own? Even if it costs them large sums of money to do so.

I want my audience to understand what a hindrance Fly-Tipping can be from the perspective of the people that suffer due to this problem.

 

Print Piece Plan:

Fly Tipping: A Plague over the Kentish countryside

For many of us that live in Kent, The pristine views of the English countryside are a common and welcome site. However in recent years everywhere you turn is plagued and defiled by litter, rubbish and Fly-tipping.

Appalling: Rubbish dumped in Minchin woods, Kent.

When did the UK become a glorified dumping ground for those who aren’t considerate enough to dispose of waste through proper channels? Uk taxes on landfill sites have lead to an increase in fly tipping in recent years. with the cost of disposing of rubbish and waste increasing, the amount of ‘businesses’ and individuals that fly-tip is also on the rise.

The Appalling statistics:

  • Fly tipping and illegal rubbish dumping is at an all time high in England, with more than 900 thousand fly tipping incidents reported between 2014 and 2015, an increase of 5.6 per cent since 2013.
  • The estimated cost of clearance of fly-tipping to local authorities in England in 2014/15 was nearly £50 million, an 11 per cent increase on 2013/14.
  • The most common place for fly-tipping to occur was on highways which accounted for 48 per cent of total incidents in 2014/15.
  • Incidents of fly-tipping on footpaths, bridleways and back alleyways increased by 3.2 per cent in England in 2014/15. Together these now account for 28 per cent of fly-tipping incidents.
  • More than 50% of landowners experience a case of fly-tipping every year.
  • The RSPCA receives 7,000 calls a year about animals injured by litter.
  • An RSPB study found that 95% of fulmars washed up dead on the North Sea coast had ingested plastic.
  • About 10% of balloons return to Earth intact, jeopardising wildlife; some 1.2 million balloon scraps have washed up during the past 25 years.
  • It costs about £60,000 a year to clear chewing gum from a town centre; if a bird gets gum stuck in its beak, it will die.
  • Fly-tipping costs Network Rail more than £2.3 million each year.
  • Every year, the Highways Agency clears some 180,000 sacks of litter from motorways and A roads alone.
  • Volunteers on the 2013 Beachwatch Big Weekend found 7,395 drinks bottles and 14,376 caps and lids; last year, 2,457 items were collected per kilometre.
  • In 2013, 33 tons of contaminated rubbish were dumped on the Enville estate in the West Midlands; they cost £7,000 to remove.
  • There could be 46,000 pieces of plastic floating in every square mile of the ocean, about 80% of which comes from the land—plastic takes eons (at least 450 years) to break down in seawater.
  • Cigarette butts can take up to 12 years to break down and a plastic bag up to 20 years to decompose fully.
  • Thirty million tons of rubbish are collected from England’s streets each year—enough to fill Wembley Stadium four times over; cleaning up Britain costs nearly £1 billion a year.
Statistics sourced from gov.uk and countrylife.co.uk.
This can be prevented: piles of waste at a fly tipping site in Minchin woods, Kent.

In areas surrounding Kingsdown, Kent many fly tipping sights can be found with some of the most common places for rubbish dumping being bridleways, footpaths through the local woods and roadsides. Although local authorities and councils are required to clear away rubbish on public land, it is often the case that no help is provided when rubbish is dumped on private property. I spoke with a local Kentish land owner; Mr John Leigh-Pemberton, whom experiences a large amount of fly tipping on his land, to gain his unique perspective on the issue.

 

(Hannah Cooper – Interviewer): Thank you for being here today.

(John Leigh-Pemberton): It’s a pleasure.

(HC): So firstly how do you feel about fly tipping, and how has it affected you on a personal level?

(JP): It makes me very angry, because of the way the legal framework it set up on fly tipping now. If somebody dumps rubbish on my land off the public highway, it is my responsibility to get rid of it. I can’t get any assistance from the council, and it costs me money to get rid of it. If it’s dangerous waste like asbestos, it can cost me over £3000.

(HC): How often do you experience fly tipping on your land? And how long has it been going on for?

(JP): At least once a week or once a fortnight. And it’s been going on for at least the past 20 years.

(HC): Would you say that fly tipping has increased in recent years?

(JP): Yes, I think it definitely has, and I think that the reason it has is because they have been tightening up on what you can and can’t bring into waste disposal sites and the cost of it has gone up as well. And what all this does is promote illegal dumping of waste.

(HC): What do you have to do to remove rubbish from your land? And how much does it cost to have that rubbish removed?

(JP): I normally have to go out to the fly tipping site myself, and bring a team of people with me. Then we go out there with a JCB and/or a tractor – trailer then we have to shovel it all up and dispose of it properly. Or I can pay someone to get ride of it for me, either way it can cost me hundreds or thousands of pounds.

(HC): What would you like to be done about fly tipping in the future?

(JP): First of all I think there should be significantly increased penalties, I think they should have their vehicles confiscated and fined. And I think they should be put in prison for fly tipping. Secondly I think there needs to be a large campaign for public awareness to help people to understand the importance of using genuinely licenced waste disposal businesses if they need rubbish disposed of. I also think that if you see anyone fly tipping or know of anyone doing it then you should report them.

(HC): Well thank you for being here today and answering my questions.

Fly tipping is an issue that affects everyone, not just those of us that live in the countryside.

We all need to come together as a community to help prevent this horrific problem, Stricter rules, regulations and punishments need to be put into place regarding the illegal disposal of waste.

If you need to dispose of any rubbish yourself or if someone else is disposing of rubbish for you please make sure you are using legitimate and trusted businesses and legal waste disposal sites. If you see a fly tipping site or catch someone illegally dumping rubbish, please report it to your local authorities.

 

Video Script:

Voice over script for the video:

For many of us that live in Kent, The pristine views of the English countryside are a common and welcome site. However in recent years everywhere you turn is plagued and defiled by litter, rubbish and Fly-tipping. This appalling footage was filmed at a Fly tipping site in West Malling, Kent in June of 2015. The road had to be closed for two days while authorities cleared the extensive amount rubbish. Although local authorities and councils are required to clear away rubbish on public land no help is provided when Rubbish is dumped of private property. I spoke with local land owner Mr John Leigh – Pemberton regarding his experiences with fly tipping.

In areas surrounding kings down in Kent many fly tipping sights can be found with some of the most common place places for rubbish dumping Bridleways, footpaths through the local woods and roadsides. Between 2014 and 2015 more than 900 thousand incidents of Fly tipping were reported in the Uk, an increase of 5.6 per cent since 2013.

Fly tipping and Rubbish dumping is a serious problem that effects all of us not just those that live in the countryside. Stricter rules, regulations and punishments need to be put in place regarding the illegal disposal of waste, to keep our country clean and save the time of those who would have to dispose of others waste. If you need to dispose of any rubbish yourself or if someone else is deposing of rubbish for you please make use you are using legitimate and trusted businesses and legal waste disposal sites. If you see a fly tipping site or catch someone dumping rubbish, please report it to your local authorities.

Script for the question I will be asking during my main interview:

  • How do you feel about fly tipping? (I will also be asking this question as part of my ‘Vox Pop’ style interviews)
  • How much fly tipping have you experienced on your land?
  • How long have you been experiencing fly tipping on your land?
  • Would you say that fly tipping has increased in recent years?
  • What do you have to do to remove the rubbish for your land?
  • How much does it cost to have rubbish removed?
  • What would you like to be done about fly tipping in the future?

 

Filming Contingency Plan:

Picture2

 

Secondary Research: Target Audience Research:

I used a website called YouGov to gather demographic information that pertains to my research. Although I couldn’t gather information on who is interested in fly tipping specifically I was able to collect these statistics on topics very similar to or that intersect with fly tipping; these topics being removing litter and waste management. This information will help me decide what demographics would be best to aim my work at.

Removing Litter

  • Gender – Male
  • Age – 55+
  • Region – South Coast (West Country, Northern Scotland)
  • Professions – Home and Garden (Research and development, Transport and Logistics)
  • Monthly Spare Income – Less than £125

Waste management

  • Gender – Male
  • Age – 55+
  • Region – Northern Scotland (North East, Wales and Avon)
  • Professions – Energy and Utilities (Military and Defence, Agriculture and Farming)
  • Monthly Spare Income – £500 – £999

 

Target Audience Primary Research:

I was able to utilise primary research in deciding on the best target audience for my project by asking 37 people (between the ages of 16 and 90) about fly tipping as part of my questionnaire. When I asked them about their thoughts and opinions about fly tipping I found that the issue only seemed to appeal to those who were over 18, and it was those 25 and older whom had very strong feelings regarding the topic. This supports my idea to aim my project at an adult audience. (18+)

My target audience is specifically people who live in the countryside of Kent. I am targeting people in Kent as my project focuses on my local area and the damage being caused to it. I am also targeting people who live in the countryside as my project specifically focuses on this issue within the countryside. This is due to the fact that I live in the countryside and in my own experiences fly tipping in my local area can be quite extreme.

I am not targeting a specific gender as my project applies to people of all genders, although statistics show that this issue may appeal more to men. And although I am not targeting a specific age range per say, I am aiming my video and article towards an audience over the age of 18. due to this being a more mature topic it would be more interesting and appealing to a more mature audience. This is also supported by the statistics as they show that this topic appeals more to adults specifically in the 55+ age range. I am hoping that I can appeal to a slightly younger audience by making my video and article interesting, informative and exciting.

 

Secondary Research: Recent Statistics and Information:

I found these statistics on the official government website Gov.uk. This information will be vital to helping me ascertain whether or not fly tipping has increased in recent years. This supports my theory that if nothing is done to reduce/stop fly tipping then it may continue to rise in the future. This information also tells me how much on average it costs to deal with fly tipping, the most common locations for fly tipping and how many fly tipping incidents were dealt with by local authorities in 2014/2015. All this information I can use in my FMP, I can present this information in my article and also mention this information in my video. This information will also help me to develop what questioned I will be asking the people I interview.

Key Points

  • Local authorities dealt with a total of 900 thousand incidents of fly-tipping in 2014/15, an increase of 5.6 per cent since 2013/14 with nearly two thirds of fly-tips involving household waste.
  • The trend in incidents of fly-tipping had been downward until 2013/14 when there was an increase to 852 thousand incidents. The number of fly-tipping incidents increased again in 2014/15 to 900 thousand incidents. Care should be taken when interpreting this increase. This may reflect both improvements to the capture of fly-tipping incidents as well as genuine increases in the number of incidents.
  • The most common place for fly-tipping to occur was on highways which accounted for 48 per cent of total incidents in 2014/15.
  • Incidents of fly-tipping on footpaths, bridleways and back alleyways increased by 3.2 per cent in England in 2014/15. Together these now account for 28 per cent of fly-tipping incidents.
  • Nearly a third of all incidents consisted of a quantity of material equivalent to a ‘small van load’. The second largest size category for fly-tipping incidents was ‘car boot’ and accounted for nearly 30 per cent of total incidents.
  • The estimated cost of clearance of fly-tipping to local authorities in England in 2014/15 was nearly £50 million, an 11 per cent increase on 2013/14.
  • Local authorities carried out nearly 515 thousand enforcement actions at an estimated cost of £17.6 million in 2014/15, a £0.3 million increase on the previous year. This equated to an increase of 3.1 per cent on enforcement actions in the same period.

 

Secondary Research: Earlier Statistics and Information:

I gathered this information for the official government website; Gov.uk. This information serves the same purpose as the information in the previous slide, this information allows me to compare these statistics from 2011/12, 2010/11 and the more recent statistics in the previous slide from 2014/15. This information will also help me to determine whether or not if fly tipping is on the rise. This information will also help me to develop my questions for the interviews I will be conducting throughout my project.

Key points:

  • Local Authorities dealt with over 744,000 incidents of fly-tipping in 2011/12, a nine per cent decrease from 2010/11.
  • Nearly two thirds of fly-tips involved household waste.
  • Nearly 43 per cent of all fly-tips occurred on the highway. Most fly-tips consisted of a small van load of material or less.
  • The estimated cost of clearance of fly-tipping to Local Authorities was £37.4 million, about nine per cent reduction over 2010/11.
  • Local Authorities carried out around 490,000 enforcement actions at an estimated cost of £17.6 million. This is a 14 per cent decrease in actions over 2010/11.
  • There were nearly 2,800 prosecutions, of which 99.6 per cent resulted in conviction.

 

Secondary Research: BBC News Report:

This link is from the BBC show “Rogue Traders” in which they identify Fly-Tippers masquerading as a professional business. The owner of this “business” based in Kent is paid by people to remove their Rubbish, however they in fact take peoples money and simply dump the rubbish somewhere else. This footage supports reports I have read about/ heard about regarding fly tippers pretending to be legitimate businesses.

 

Secondary Research: Fly Tippers Caught On Camera:

In the second video you can see two men two men clearly dumping rubbish on someone’s land. The men themselves can been seen clearly on camera and the license plate on their van is also clearly seen, however even with evidence like this Fly-tippers are rarely caught or punished. It is then up to the victims to pay to have the rubbish removed. This video is useful to my project as in my final video I would like to feature clips like this; clips that show people fly tipping. I want to use clips like this to show how careless people are when it comes to dumping rubbish and that it has to be stopped.

 

Secondary Research: Video Inspiration:

How I want the video to be composed

After doing some research into similar news style videos, I found one that is similar to what I would like to create with my own project. I would like my video to appear to be a professional news report, much like this video.

As I am discussing a serious topic in my project I want that to be conveyed in the final product. I would like the audience to understand the seriousness of the matter and I also what the final product to be informative but at the same time not seem boring. I am hoping that by including footage of the more pleasant side to the countryside it will brighten the overall message of the video and show that if the countryside is cared for that it can be beautiful.

I will be using the same camera and microphone for all the interviews and Footage, this will mean that all my footage will be of a consistent quality and It will also make it more efficient when transferring the footage to a computer for editing. However if I am unable to use the same equipment for all my footage then I will use my IPad or my own camera, both are capable of recording footage of a consistent, high quality.

 

Secondary Research: Interviewing Style:

The key to a good interview is often a good interviewer, so for my video piece to be a success I felt it necessary to research different interviewing styles. After conducting my research I found an interviewer who’s style I identified with; BBC Radio One host Nick Grimshaw. He has a way of making his guests feel welcomed and at home, this is a good interviewing quality and one I hope I can replicate in my own interviews as making interviewees feel comfortable will allow me to gather better, more informative answers to my questions. He also doesn’t list question after question, he is able to develop his line of questioning from the answers his interviewees give. This way it feels more natural, almost like a conversation and comes across much more interesting to the listeners. Also by following up on questions he gathers more information by coercing more in-depth answers. This is definitely something I would like to achieve in my interviews as I would like to gather as much information as possible while at the same time not bombard the interviewee with question after question.

I would like the interview to seem natural and interesting and capture the attention of the viewer, although my interview will be formal I am hoping that by utilising some of Nick’s techniques I can make the interview feel more natural like a conversation. Nick Grimshaw’s target audience is teens and young adults, and although this is not my specific target audience I am hoping that by utilising some of his interviewing techniques I will also be able to appeal to a younger audience as well as the specific demographic I am targeting. Having a broader ranged audience will allow me to more successfully raise awareness for how bad fly tipping has become and what can be done to deal with it/prevent it.

 

Secondary Research: Large Scale Fly Tipping:

Both these videos show vans/lorries dumping large amounts of rubbish, I would like to include footage like this in my FMP news report style video. As it is unlikely that I will be able to gather footage like this myself I will most likely use videos like this in my FMP. I chose these two videos as they are very similar and feature rather large scale dumping.

 

 

Secondary Research: Background music:

I want my final video to be serious and at the same time not have an overall depressive theme. After looking at lots of different interviews and news reports I found this audio. I chose this audio because It has a more upbeat nature and I thought I could use it during the interview sections of my video.

Because the topic that will feature in my video is of a serious and mature nature I wanted to include background music that will mirror the theme of the video. I chose this audio as it fits in with the theme that I am trying to recreate in my own video. I plane on using the audio aptly titled “cold” in my video during the more serious part, for example when I feature footage of fly tipping or a fly tipping site.

 

This audio is a loop of BBC world news background music, After researching news videos I found that more professional news reports had similar style of background music, especially BBC news reports. I chose this audio as it feature various different styles of background music. I can therefore isolate specific parts in this loop and use it in my video to make my work sound more authentic, like a real BBC news report.

Secondary Research: News articles

I used the internet to search for news articles regarding fly tipping in England, more specifically Kent. I chose these articles because I would like to create something similar in my final Print product and I can use these articles for research and inspiration.

  • Fly-tipping along Kent country lanes

http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-england-kent-28090511

  • Fly-tipping menace on the increase as councils wage war on illegal waste sites.

http://www.kentonline.co.uk/kent/news/fly-tipping-8150/

  • Fly-tipping in England on the increase.

http://www.recyclingwasteworld.co.uk/news/fly-tipping-in-england-on-the-increase/108626/

  • Staff at Greenbox Recycling Kent in Ashford fined over £25,000 for flytipping waste wood.

http://www.kentonline.co.uk/kent-business/county-news/ashford-firm-fined-fly-tipping-96392/

Secondary Research: Print Inspiration:

http://www.countrylife.co.uk/country-life/country-life-litter-campaign-71195

The article on the website that I have linked above is the type of article that I would like to create with my own work. I like the fact that it contains facts and Information as well as Images and Ideas on what can be done about fly tipping.

Using this article as inspiration and research, I plan on creating my own article to a high standard and professional quality that includes vital information that I have gathered and images that I have taken.

 

Primary Research/Practice: News Articles:

Throughout the year I have produced several news articles, on various different topics. I have also created different news articles in my own time for practice. I am listing these in my research as these articles are essential to my project as they show that I have practiced and thought out how to write a news article of professional quality and standard.

These articles are evidence of my previous work:

The Black Jaguar White Tiger Foundation Article

The Black Jaguar White Tiger Foundation has been breaking barriers in recent months, by raising awareness about big cats and working closely with many other organisations and governments to save thousands of animal.

The foundation was started by a man named Eduardo Serio, who along with close friends and family own and run the foundation. The foundation came to be in September of 2013, when the story of an orphaned black jaguar cub reached Eddie and his cousin Miguel; an advocate of animal care and an expert in the field. They discovered that the cub; who would later go on to be the foundations first member; Celio, was being held by an illegal trader who planned to drug her so people could take pictures with her for profit. Eddie, refusing to let this animal suffer, intercepted her and took a leap of faith with the foundation in order to rescue big cats from all over the world.

In a few short years the foundation has become a thriving safe haven for big cats, rescuing nearly 100 animal from zoos, circuses and illegal traders and breeders. Various celebrities have recently joined to fight for the cause including Kellan Lutz and Paris Hilton. Ronda Rousey; world renouned fighter and current UFC Bantamweight champion recently help an auction, selling her sighed merchandise to rise money and awareness for the foundation.

In recent week the foundation and its cause has been on the front cover of several different newspapers and magazines, including the front cover of Clase magazine; the weekly magazine for the biggest newspaper in Mexico and even on the cover of Caras-Mexico.

The foundation sadly sad goodbye to two of its lions in the past year, which took a huge toll on the foundation. The first was one of the foundations female lions, called Karma or more affectionately known as ‘Karmis’, whose heart gave out during an operation to remove wood from her stomach. The second lion to pass was a young male cub named Labai who succumbed to internal injuries caused by the illegal traders he was held by before coming to the foundation. However when word of this sad news hit the internet, thousands of people took to their social media sites to posting thousands of messages of their sadness and their love for the animals. People began making tributes and encouraging people to donate while sending their condolences to Eddie and his family.

Despite these tragic loses Eddie and his team continue to raise awareness for the importance of their cause. The foundation has recently worked with the Mexican government to make circuses with animal illegal Along with organisation such as ‘boycott circus’ and ‘project marine life’ the Mexican government is working hard to ban illegal breading and make inhumane zoos and circuses, the trading and poaching of animals Illegal.

With each move The Black Jaguar White Tiger foundation makes, it’s a step in the right direction for the conservation and protection of the world’s big cats. The foundation has already acquired Lions, Tigers, Jaguars, Leopards, and Pumas, and they hope to save thousands more.

Rodmersham Village Church Article:

Surrounded by beautiful orchards in one of the least spoilt parts of Kent, the magnificent St Nicholas Church in the village of Rodmersham is an excellent example of 15th century Norman architecture and a classic example of a local landmark, situated between the Rodmersham Green and Bapchild.

Shrouded in history, the church is defined by its welcoming beauty. Found in a lovely setting amongst fruitful orchards and set opposite its inviting doors are a very small cluster of houses. Every element about the church is beautiful and inviting, inside the building bright colours bring life to the floors and surrounding walls with rugs, curtains and tapestries. Floral elements adorn the once dark and untasteful areas of the rooms. Steep spiral ‘Key shaped’ steps lead to the tower which houses the belfry and its six bells, bells which fill the villagers ears with songful ringing every Thursday night. Atop the tower you are presented with a magnificent view of the surrounding countryside, as well as a remarkable view of Sheerness.

The building consisting of an exceptionally tall and magnificent west tower, chancel and nave with south aisle and chapel is constructed out of locally quarried dark flint and stone. The powerfully imposing tower is widely considered as one of the finest examples of 15th Century tower building in the whole county complete with a set of menacing yet beautiful gargoyles.

Although most of the Inside of the church has been extensively modernised and restored between 1874 and 1896 during the Victorian era such as the Rood screen being mainly Victorian but throughout the church medieval workmanship can still be found, such as its early Norman window. Excellent examples of doors to the rood loft can be found in the north wall of the nave, the top of each doorway having nicely shouldered arches. The most interesting parts of the church are the chancel and chapel, the former of which containing an excellent altar by Buckeridge and Hoyce dated 1888 and an east window of German glass by Bayer of Munich, dated 1881. The excellent fifteenth-century wooden sedilia of three canopied seats can be found on the south side, something almost unique in England.

The Churches first patron was William Pordage. with its original vicar being John Mills, Pordage retained his position from 1580 to 1640, whereas Mills remained the vicar of the church from Sept. 10 1580, to 1610. And to this day the church still has a lych gate which is kept purely for historical purposes.

Peace One Day Article:

In the late 1990s Jeremy Gilly; an actor and filmmaker from Southampton, England, began to explore the concept of peace throughout the world using the medium of film. He aspired to establish a worldwide annual day of peace, in which he hoped the world would unite in at least one day of non-violence and ceasefire. While at the same time creating a film to document his efforts and journey towards his goal.

The non-profit organisations ‘Peace One Day’ was founded by Gilly in 1999, the organisation with which Gilly would later achieve his goal of creating a day of peace that would not only be adopted by certain countries but worldwide. All Gilly’s efforts were rewarded when the United Nations General Assembly unanimously agreed on the 7th of September 2001 to establish the UN International Day of Peace; which would annually fall on the 21st of September.

It didn’t take long for ‘World Peace Day’ to become a rising success as in 2008 Afghanistan saw a 70% decrease in recorded violent incidence. This then inspired Gilly to create a collection of coalitions that would work as part of World Peace Day. These include; the ‘Reducing Domestic Violence’ Coalition; the NGO Coalition; the Student Coalition; the Faith Coalition; the Media Coalition; the Corporate Coalition; and the Schools’ Network. In 2011 a concert was held in the O2 Arena to promote the London Olympic Truce programme and which aimed to reduce domestic and international global violence. Peace one Day continued to have a positive effect when in 2012 the global consultancy firm McKinsey & Company found that approximately 280 million people in 198 countries were aware of Peace Day and its initiatives. This number has continued to rise every year with a recorded 470 million people in 2013 alone.

With the help and support of famous brands like Coca-Cola and Burger King, along with celebrities such as Angelina Jolie and Jude Law, Gilly was able to spread his message further, reaching whole new demographics of people. Gilly’s work has made it possible for relief workers to enter warzones and third world countries that are exposed to large amounts of violence and provide support. Such as providing medical attention to those in need and vaccinating children against disease.

Peace One Day has inspired the creation of various music videos and peace movements. In 2014, Gilly worked with Howard G. Buffett Foundation to launch a project the Great Lakes region of Africa as well as in the Democratic Republic of Congo for Peace Day, 21 September an initiative that will last for 3 years. The projects goal is to raise awareness of Peace Day as well as encourage those in the region to work together to achieve peace.

Gilly hopes to have reached three billion people across the world by 2016 and continues to encourage everyone to ask the question: Who Will You Make Peace With? Gilly’s efforts and journey are documented in the feature length documentary; titled Peace One Day.

Primary Research – Footage and Photographs: Fly Tipping Sites

I went, with the help of my mother to numerous different fly tipping sites in Kingsdown Kent, all on land that belongs to Mr John Leigh Pemberton. At these sites I recorded my own footage of the fly tipping that has gone on there. I was also able to take numerous photographs of the rubbish at the fly tipping site all of which will add to my primary research. I can use all the footage I captured along with the photographs and use them in both my video and print piece.

I took these photographs at the numerous different fly tipping sites that I visited in areas surrounding Kingsdown and Rodmersham. Each of the photos I took serves as vital evidence and first hand (primary) research for my project. Going to the sites allowed me to see for myself how severe the fly tipping situation really is, and that something urgently needs to be done about it.

Primary Research: Fly Tipping Site Footage:

This is an example of some of the footage I took at one of the many fly tipping sites I visited as part of my research. Like with the photographs, collecting footage at all the various sites allowed me to see first hand how bad the fly tipping situation is in my area. I was truly disgusted with what I found, and it only inspired me more to raise awareness for this pressing issue.

Unfortunately I was unable to upload my raw fly tipping footage to my WordPress but my footage is featured in my final video piece.

The footage can be found between 1:12 and 1:35, 13:42 and 14:05 as well as clips that feature throughout the formal interview.

 

Primary Research: Questionnaire/Survey:

In conducting part of my Primary Research I have used quantitative research and conducted a survey. I asked 37 people various questions about fly tipping to gather their thoughts, feelings and opinions on the subject.

Questions:

  1. How do you feel about fly tipping?
  2. Have you ever experienced fly tipping?
  3. If so where?
  4. What would you like to be done about fly tipping?

 

 

Primary Research/Practice: Recording Video and Audio Footage:

These two videos are evidence of previous film work that I have done. I worked in a small group with two of my classmates to create these videos, in the case of the radio piece I was in charge of recording audio and in the case of the film piece I was in charge of filming video and audio. I also edited both of these videos myself using Adobe Premiere Pro. Both these videos are evidence that I have experience in recording both video and audio as well as editing. I will utilise the skills I learnt creating these pieces to create my video piece in my FMP.

 

 

 

Primary Research/Practice: Continuity Edits:

This video was the first experience I had with using continuity edits in my work. This is also the work I a most proud of s far, due to both filming the original footage and my final edit. This video also serves as evidence that I have experience and practice in utilising continuity edits, a technique I will most likely be using in my FMP video.

 

 

Primary Research: Vox Pop Interviews.

I conducted two Vox Pop interviews in two separate locations. I asked both interviewees the same question; “What are your thoughts and feelings regarding fly tipping?” I found that the interview I conducted inside had bad lighting, from this I learnt that for my formal interview I shouldn’t film it directly in front of a window. I found that the interview I conducted outside gave much better lighting however the cameras microphone picked up on ambient sounds from outside, for example loud sounds began to disrupt the recording when the wind picked up. From the outside video I learnt that I shouldn’t film my formal interview outside because of the background noise that can be picked up. From both these interviews I gathered vital information. By asking a vague question I was able to ascertain a broader answer in response. I was able to gather their opinions regarding fly tipping and specifically what the would like to be done about it. In both interviews they bring up how they think that fly tipping should be better policed and how those who fly tip should face stronger penalties.

Unfortunately I was unable to upload my Vox Pop interviews individually but they are included in my final video.

The Vox Pop interviews can be found between: 0:38 and 1:22.

Primary Research: Formal Interview

This is a brief extract from the formal interview I conducted with local land owner; Mr John Leigh – Pemberton. I used the information I gathered in my extensive research to conduct the interview. The information I gathered during this interview allowed me to view the issue from Mr Pemberton’s unique perspective . As he owns lots of land in the areas surrounding where I live he experiences large scale fly tipping extremely often, so he was a fountain of knowledge when it came to this situation.

Unfortunately I was unable to upload the extract of my formal interview to my WordPress but it is included in my final video.

The Formal Interview can be found at 1:35 and 13:42

 

Research Finalisation. (Evaluation)

For my Final Major project I have decided to go with my initial idea and do an exposé on Fly-Tipping. I chose this topic as I feel like it is the best fit with the type of work I want to produce. I am drawn to it as it is a more serious topic which would allow me to take a more serious approach and pander to a more mature audience which would differ from most of the work we have done so far this year. This is also a topic that is close to home as I have had first hand experience with Fly-Tipping while living in the countryside. This topic is important to me and I would like to shine a light on how bad it has become in recent years.

I want to conduct a formal interview with a local land owner and get their personal opinion and insight on Topic. I could also conduct less formal ‘Vox-Pop’ style interviews like we have conducted many time throughout this year. I am quite confident in my interviewing skills and very confident in my writing skill which would both be useful for this project.

I have decided that despite the fact that it will be a lot of work to take on I would like to produce both a documentary/news report style video and a newspaper article. I feel as though I can only emphasise the seriousness of the situation by doing both. I would also be able to display all of my skills, as well as utilising what I have learnt this year to create both a video and print article.

I will be conducting extensive research into Fly-Tipping in Kent and the UK and determine whether or not the number of reported Fly-Tipping cases have increased. I will be conducting secondary research by looking into cases of Fly-Tipping in Kent, I will be looking a online articles as well as magazine and newspaper articles. I will also be looking at news reports and video clips about Fly-Tipping.

I will be making a news report/documentary style video by using a camera and microphone to interview people regarding their thoughts and feeling regarding the issue, this will also be a way to gather primary research. I will be conducting a few brief ‘Vox-Pop’ style interviews with people to gather more information and get peoples thought on the subject as well as a more formal interview with a local land owner to get a unique perspective from someone who experiences rubbish dumping regularly. I will also use cameras from college as well as my own cameras and IPad to record footage of the local countryside and local fly tipping sites. I will also be using the information I gather from these interviews and my secondary research to produce my newspaper style article.   I will be using ‘Adobe Premier Pro’ to edit my footage into a news report style video and I will use Microsoft word to draft my article and ‘Adobe InDesign’ to create the final newspaper magazine article.

My research has helped a great deal in developing my ideas for my project. The videos I gathered from the internet have helped me to understand what fly tipping is like on a larger scale, knowledge that I can now reflect In my work. The other videos that feature people fly tipping will also contribute to my project as I can feature them as a compilation along with my own footage of fly tipping sites in my final FMP video. This will be good for combining both Primary and Secondary research in my video.

I was also able to find videos of news reports that I would like to emulated with my own video. I would like my video to be of a high quality and professional standard. This is why I looked at news reports specifically by the BBC as their news channels are watched every day all over the country. I also chose BBC videos as they have ‘South East’ specific news which relates to my project as I am aiming my video specifically at those who live In Kent.

I also researched many online news articles on the subject of fly tipping, like before one of my main sources is the BBC, however I did look at several other news sites as well. My inspiration for my print piece came from a website called ‘Country Life’. I chose this article for what I want to base my own work of off because County Life is a popular rural magazine in Kent, which fits in perfectly with the demographic I am aiming my work at. As well as being a magazine Country Life also have a website which they also post news articles to. It was on this website that I found the article that inspired me, I like the article as it featured clear and concise facts and figures that were very informative but not boring. The article also featured pictures of fly tipping sites, which in part inspired me to take my own Photos of Fly Tipping sites.

I conducted primary research and I gathered footage and photographs from various Fly Tipping sites in the Kingsdown area of Kent. This acted as a way for me to practice filming while I was gathering information and evidence to use in both my video and Print piece. I was also able to see for my self how bad the fly tipping situation is in my area which only gave me further incentive to raise awareness about the issue.

I also conducted a survey to gather people’s thoughts and opinions on the subject, and also ascertain what they would like to be done about Fly Tipping in the future as this particular question appears heavily in my project. The answers I gathered from this questionnaire allowed me to develop and decide on the best questions to ask in my formal interview and Vox Pop interview in order to gather the most information.

My mind map also helped me to develop my ideas further a decide what I wanted to do with my FMP.

I also conducted research into the type of (background) music that I wanted to feature in my final FMP video. During my research I decided that I wanted to utilise multiple styles of music. During more serious parts of the video, like when it features the footage I took of fly tipping sites, I wanted the music to reflect the seriousness of the issue and sound more sad/serious. I was able to find a song the perfectly fit what I was looking for during my research as I mentioned in a previous slide. However I wanted to also feature more up-beat and happy music in my video as I didn’t want the overall tone of the video to be completely dark and depressive. So during my research I was able to find music with a happy theme, I want to utilise this style of music during the main part of my video which will be my formal interview with Mr Pemberton.

I conducted research into the specific demographics I should be aiming my work towards, I had already decided to aim my work at a more mature audience but after researching demographics of people who are interested in similar and related issues to fly tipping I could develop my work to appeal to my target audience.

During my research I also practiced the skills that I would require during my final major project. I looked over previous video, audio and print work that I have done through this year and evaluated the pieces and how I could make improvements when creating my final piece(s). I also further practiced my print work by not only including articles that I had already written but by also produced a number of new article. This was to make sure I was prepared when it came to creating my FMP print article.

I also conducted Vox Pop interviews and a formal style interview in order to gather both footage to use with my FMP video and information that I could use in both my video and print piece.

In conclusion all the research I conducted has helped me immensely in completing my FMP, conducting the research and compiling it did take a great deal of time and I did find it difficult to complete it all within the time frame I had to complete my FMP within. However my research overall has helped me a great deal when It came to the overall product, It also served to broaden my understanding of Fly-Tipping as an issue and further inspire me to raise awareness for the topic.


 

Harvard References and Bibliography:

YouTube. (2016). BBC Rogue Trader – Fly-tipper identified using SmartWater. [online] Available at: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=PAFH3L41vY4 [Accessed 20 May 2016].

YouTube. (2016). Birmingham: The city fly tipping cases have gone up by 15% (Sept 2015). [online] Available at: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yiH_c2lFnrk [Accessed 20 May 2016].

BBC News. (2016). Fly-tipping along Kent country lanes – BBC News. [online] Available at: http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-england-kent-28090511 [Accessed 20 May 2016].

YouTube. (2016). Flytipping in Ellesmere Port – can you help?. [online] Available at: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=m0MHAnhbP_Y [Accessed 20 May 2016].

Recyclingwasteworld.co.uk. (2016). Fly-tipping in England on the increase. [online] Available at: http://www.recyclingwasteworld.co.uk/news/fly-tipping-in-england-on-the-increase/108626/ [Accessed 20 May 2016].

Gov.uk. (2012). Fly-tipping in England: annual statistics – Press releases – GOV.UK. [online] Available at: https://www.gov.uk/government/news/fly-tipping-in-england-annual-statistics [Accessed 20 May 2016].

Kent Online. (2013). Fly-tipping menace on the increase as councils wage war on illegal waste sites. [online] Available at: http://www.kentonline.co.uk/kent/news/fly-tipping-8150/ [Accessed 20 May 2016].

gov.uk. (2016). Fly-tipping statistics for England, 2014/15. [online] Available at: https://www.gov.uk/government/uploads/system/uploads/attachment_data/file/469566/Flycapture_201415_Statistical_release_FINAL.pdf [Accessed 20 May 2016].

Wikipedia. (2016). Illegal dumping. [online] Available at: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Illegal_dumping [Accessed 20 May 2016].

Kent Online. (2016). Staff at Greenbox Recycling Kent in Ashford fined over £25,000 for flytipping waste wood. [online] Available at: http://www.kentonline.co.uk/kent-business/county-news/ashford-firm-fined-fly-tipping-96392/ [Accessed 20 May 2016].

YouTube. (2016). “Cold” – Jorge Méndez (Sad Piano & Violin Instrumental). [online] Available at: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=pUZeSYsU0Uk [Accessed 24 May 2016].

YouTube. (2016). Background music for videos – Festive Life / Royalty-free music/ energetic and positive music. [online] Available at: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2mBAVERrJUg [Accessed 24 May 2016].

YouTube. (2016). Fly tipper dumps three tonnes of waste in residential area , Police in Croydon. [online] Available at: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CYU6LOs0KYU [Accessed 24 May 2016].

YouTube. (2016). Inspiring – Happy Upbeat Background Music | Royalty Free Music for Videos, Adverts, Commercials. [online] Available at: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=e_xTaYxHutQ [Accessed 24 May 2016].

Life, C. (2015). Litter: can we stop the rot? – Country Life. [online] Country Life. Available at: http://www.countrylife.co.uk/country-life/country-life-litter-campaign-71195 [Accessed 24 May 2016].

YouTube. (2016). Road to be closed for days after fly tipping. [online] Available at: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Ihr9n3vUEJc [Accessed 24 May 2016].

YouTube. (2016). Shameless fly-tipper dumps tons of rubbish on residential street. [online] Available at: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OJBiRXQ2uA8 [Accessed 24 May 2016].

YouGov Profiles LITE. (2016). YouGov Profiles LITE. [online] Available at: https://yougov.co.uk/profileslite#/Waste_management/demographics [Accessed 24 May 2016].

YouGov Profiles LITE. (2016). YouGov Profiles LITE. [online] Available at: https://yougov.co.uk/profileslite#/Removing_litter/demographics [Accessed 24 May 2016].


 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

