Picture1Week 1:

Week beginning 12/04/2016

My targets this week were to plan out and brainstorm Ideas for my Final Major Project, create a mind map displaying my ideas and get tutor feedback on my ideas. I also had to assess the various skills that I have learnt throughout this year and this course, and also assess areas that I need to improve upon as well as the piece(s) of work I am most proud of. I also had to create a PowerPoint titled ‘Starting from Myself’. This was to assess and document various aspects of myself.

This week I planned to have 3 final ideas for my final major project. I wanted to discuss my ideas with my tutor; Alma, to see if my ideas would work well. I want to explore my skills and utilise my strongest points to create my FMP.

This week I was able to asses my skills which helped me to decide what type of media I should pursue when creating my FMP. After talking with Alma, she assured me that my print work is my strongest skill and encouraged me to pursue that for my FMP. After compiling my ideas I decided to utilise both film and print media for my final major project, as those are the two aspects of this course in which I feel I have learnt the most as well as improved the most.

An issue I faced this week was that I struggled to think of more than two FMP ideas that I felt passionate about, or that I could gather enough research on to create a piece of high enough standard and quality. I overcame this problem by talking to Alma, I was able to talk through all my different ideas with her and she helped me decided on my final idea by talking through the ideas I had. Alma also discussed next weeks targets with me.

My learning outcomes for this week were to explore my skills and to find at least 3 ideas for my FMP. I was able to complete all my targets this week.

 

Week 2:

Week beginning 18/04/2016

My targets this week were to make a start on my FMP proposal and complete a SWOT analysis of all my ideas as well as receive feedback about my work. Another target for this week was to make sure I completed any unfinished work from the previous week. I chose to create a PowerPoint presentation for my SWOT analysis as I felt that this would be the best way to express my ideas in a clear and concise format.

This week I planned to complete my FMP proposal and get feedback for my ideas. The feedback will allow me to develop my ideas further and perfect my project more. My SWOT analysis will also allow me to clearly and precisely plan out all my ideas.

This week I completed my SWOT analysis PowerPoint which allowed me to clearly lay out the ideas I have. I also had peer feedback this week which was helpful as well as tutor feedback. both of these helped me to evaluate my work and assess the strong points in my FMP as well as the weak areas that I could improve on. My SWOT analysis also helped me to decide on my final FMP idea, because when all my ideas were laid out in a clear way I was able to decide which of my Ideas would be best to continue developing. After talking with my tutor regarding my final idea she helped me to decide which one would be the best choice.

An issue I faced this week was that I had difficulty thinking of a third Idea for my FMP. However after talking it over with Alma, she helped me think of a third idea that I would be able to complete and suited the style of media I wanted to pursue.

My learning outcomes for this week were to complete my final proposal, to receive peer and tutor feedback on my work and ideas and to complete my SWOT analysis PowerPoint.  I had difficulty completing both my proposal and my SWOT analysis but I was able to complete all of this weeks work.

 

Week 3:

Week beginning 25/04/2016

My targets for this week were to complete any unfinished work up until this point and start my research for my final major project.

This week I planned to complete all unfinished work up until this week, as well as start my research for my FMP. My research will allow me to develop my FMP Idea as well as further my understanding of fly tipping.

This week I began my extensive research into my Final Major Project idea; the issue of fly tipping. I wanted to ascertain in my research why fly tipping is on the rise, the adverse effect it has on people and what people think should be done about it. I wanted my research to be very in depth and informative. To do that I planned to utilise both primary and secondary research as well as quantitative and qualitative. This week I wanted to focus specifically on my secondary research, like collecting information on fly tipping in general such as statistics. I also wanted to collect news articles and videos about or of fly tipping from YouTube. I chose to collect all my research findings and compile them in the form of a PowerPoint. The reason I chose to use this format was because it would allow me to organise my research findings in a clear and concise manner, for example I could use a different slide for each substantial piece of information.

An Issue I faced this week was that I found myself struggling to gather enough information in the space of one week. Although I didn’t expect to complete all my research this week, as I was only focusing  on my secondary research, I was still expecting to get more done. I am setting myself another target for next week, which is to complete my secondary research as well as starting my primary research.

My learning outcomes for this week were to complete any work I hadn’t already finished and also hopefully complete my secondary research. I was able to complete any unfinished work but I was unable to complete my secondary research however I did make good progress.

 

Week 4:

week beginning 02/05/2016

My targets for this week were to finish any unfinished work, complete my secondary research and start my primary research if there’s time. Also to start preparing for my interviews and book out any equipment that I’ll need for filming my footage.

This week I planned to finish my secondary research as I was unable to finish it last week. I also planned on starting my primary research, specifically my questionnaire/survey and I also planned on booking out any equipment that I would be using to film my Vox Pop interviews, as well as my formal interview and B-roll footage of some of the fly tipping sites in my local area. Something else I planned for this week was to research interviewing styles and techniques.

I continued on with my secondary research this week, I conducted my survey to gather first hand information from people. This survey allowed me to gather their thoughts and feelings on the subject. I also booked out some of the equipment this week, I had some of my own equipment but I had to borrow another camera and microphone (zoom video recorder) from the college. I also began preparing for my interviews, both Vox Pop and Formal. To prepare I contacted everyone I wanted to interview and organised times and places which I could shoot footage at, I also conducted research into different interviewers and their techniques and styles. I found an interviewer whose style I liked (Nick Grimshaw) and I used the information I gathered about him to develop and improve my own interviewing skills.

An issue I faced this week was being able to organise a time and place that I could interview people at. The formal interview was fairly simple to organise however I had to reschedule my Vox Pop interviews several times and I even had to cancel some. This was a huge inconvenience to my FMP as my Vox Pop interviews are important to gathering first hand research as well as being used as footage In my final video.

My outcomes for this week were to complete my secondary research and also begin my primary research as well as book out equipment from college. I wasn’t able to fully complete my secondary research however I did make great head way in my primary research. I was also able to book out a camera and microphone from the college and although I wasn’t able to book out the microphone I initially wanted I was able to get a zoom video recorder which is also very good.

 

Week 5:

Week beginning 09/05/2016

My targets for this week was to finalise my research, summarise and evaluate my research. Practice techniques with the equipment and gain tutor feedback.

This week I was able to finalise my secondary research which was a relief as I had been working on it for quite some time now, I also made progress with my primary research as I was able to record my formal interview with local land owner Mr John Leigh – Pemberton. My interview with him gave me a unique insight and perspective into the world of fly tipping, information that I can now reflect in my research PowerPoint and my final video and print piece. I was also able to get valuable tutor feedback this week from my tutor Alma, this helped me to assess my strong points and weak points in my project so far and help me to develop my ideas and research further. I was also able to practice my techniques through the Vox Pop interviews I was able to film as well as the B-roll footage I collected.

An issue I faced this week was again, keeping to the organised dates and times for filming my Vox Pop interviews as many people kept rescheduling or cancelling. This was very disappointing and posed a significant problem to my project as I needed those interviews for research and for using in my FMP video. to overcome this I rescheduled some of my interviews to a time when everyone was free.

My outcomes for this week were to finalise my research which I was unable to fully complete as I still have some primary research to undertake. Practise techniques with the equipment I had borrowed as well as my own equipment which I was able to accomplish. I was also able to gain tutor feedback which was valuable in helping with my work.

 

Week 6:

My targets for this week were to complete all work I’ve yet to complete as well as record my final interviews and record footage of local fly tipping sites.

This week I was able to finalise my research which was a big wait off of my shoulders. I was also able to film footage of some local fly tipping sites this week which is useful to my project as they count towards primary research, and I also plan on using the footage in my final video piece. I was also able to film my final Vox Pop interviews this week which was a relief to finally get finished.

An Issue I had this week was with filming my final Vox Pop interviews, due to so many cancelations I was unable to record as many interviews as I had initial planned, that being at least five, in the end I was only able to record two. However I can still utilise both of these interviews in my final video piece.

My outcomes for this week was to finish my research which I was able to do and record all final interviews which I was also able to do. Another target I achieved was to record footage at various fly tipping sites surrounding my local area.

 

Week 7:

My targets for this week was to begin editing all my footage into my final video piece and also begin creating my final print piece. I also need to return any filming equipment that was borrowed from college.

This week I began editing my footage for my final major project’s videos piece. I have found that throughout this year I have learnt a lot about editing and using different software that I had never had the opportunity to use before. I was able to utilise these skills that I have learnt to begin editing my video piece. I have started compiling footage I have filmed myself with picture I have taken as well as video and audio that I sourced from the internet, all relevant to the topic at hand. I was also able to return all of the equipment that I borrowed on time, so I no longer had that to worry about. I also began drafting my final print piece using all the information I had gathered during my research.

This week went quite successfully when it came to achieving my targets, although I had to deal with some complications with the college’s computers as I had trouble finding a computer with the software I needed for editing that worked. This wasted a great deal of my time that I would have liked to have spent working. To rectify this in the future I found a computer that had the software and planned to use that computer again in the following weeks for all my editing.

I was able to complete all my targets this week which set me of the right track to achieve my targets for next week as there would be no other work keeping me behind.

 

Week 8:

My targets for this week were to complete my video edit, and also complete my print piece as well. Another target was to begin my final evaluation of my work so far.

This week I continued with my editing, which I was unable to complete unfortunately as this project has been a huge undertaking for me to get through alone so I found myself struggling to keep up with editing this week. I was however able to complete my first draft for my print piece which meant I had one less thing to worry about. I also began my final evaluation to reflect on all of my work so far.

 

Week 9:

My Targets for this week were to complete all FMP work up until this point, also complete my final evaluation of my work so far, begin uploading work to my WordPress. Receive tutor feedback.

This week was rather stressful as I had to get a lot done. I was able to complete my video edit and print piece, which are important as they are my final FMP pieces. My video piece was extremely difficult to get done due to various technical difficulties I suffered however I was able to get it done in the end. I also began uploading my work to my WordPress this week as I new it would no doubt take a very long time for me to upload my work to my website/ YouTube. I also completed my final evaluation which allowed me to reflect on all of the work that I had done throughout this project, both the strong points and where I felt I had succeeded as well as the weak point which I can use to learn from and use to improve my work next year.

 

Week 10:

My target for this week was to upload all my finished work onto my WordPress and Link my work to my tracking documents and Email it to my tutor Alma.

All my completed work has been linked to my tracking documents and sent to Alma for marking/grading.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

